The bad and the good

Last night I had a dietary slip up – I think it was the exhaustion. Hubby also expressed being fatigued…I think the brief and intense heat wave (which is thankfully over) just got to us both. It started when we got home from work: I was ravenous…like food was the ONLY thing on my mind. I had some blue tortilla chips, and half of a Zone bar (hubby’s). Then,  I completely lamed out on dinner – we all had grilled cheese and green beans. It was on whole wheat bread (which is the only kind I buy) so I suppose that made it slightly healthier.  Maybe. I had brie in mine.  Very healthy, right?

Later, however, I had a leftover piece of ice cream cake. It wasn’t very big, and about halfway through it kind of lost its charm.  Of course I was feeling guilty afterwards, but at the same time, I had a good ‘ol sugar rush and burst of energy, and got a load of laundry done…besides that, however, I really don’t remember the rest of the evening at all…

So, even though today was not a running day, I made it one. I suppose as punishment? Or maybe because I knew the extra junk from the day before would help? Maybe both. I was up at 5:45 am, which is not typical of me. I had a terrible dream which I don’t even want to talk about. I couldn’t fall back asleep, so by 6:15, I hit the pavement. I ran 36 minutes and it was pretty easy. I walked another 10 or so, and came home to little man being all cute with his daddy and wanting breakfast. Perfect.

Feeling good so far today, and eating pattern is back to the norm. Looking forward to some fresh chicken sausage for dinner from the local butcher/market  – we’ll probably grill it.

I cut my own bangs earlier. I was thinking about doing this recently – usually it’s the precursor to my scheduling a haircut. They came out cute, but I do need a trim. I think I’ll have the bottom trimmed to collar bones, with some shaping/long layers starting from my ear lobes down. That should work well with the bangs, and maybe help with my summer months condition: Great American Bush Hair.  I also feel like my head is too flat in the back, and lifting the weight line should also balance that. I secretly think I’d be a good stylist, by the way – but unless you’re like THE hot one in the area, and run your own show, it’s gotta be one of the shittiest professions ever.

 

 

Leave a Reply

